The Sun| Mercury| Venus| Earth| Mars| Jupiter| Saturn| Uranus| Neptune| Pluto

Find all the information you need about our corner of the universe at Discover The Planets!

Discover The Planets
The Sun    (+)
Mercury    (+)
Venus    (+)
Earth    (+)
Mars    (+)
Jupiter    (+)
Saturn    (+)
Uranus    (+)
Neptune    (+)
Pluto    (+)

Missions to Pluto
Pluto Moons
Pluto Sign/Name
Pluto Short Facts
Pluto Pictures
Pluto Summary



Pluto is a dwarf planet in the Kuiper belt, with a diameter of just 2,374 kilometers. Pluto was discovered by Clyde Tombaugh, an American, in 1930, and was considered the ninth planet from the Sun from 1930 to 2006.

However, in 2006, the International Astronomical Union (IAU) defined the term "planet" for the first time, which excluded Pluto and reclassified it as a member of the new "dwarf planet" category.

Pluto was named for the Roman god of the underworld.

It is closer than Neptune for 20 years out of its 249 year orbit. In September 2226 this will happen again - It just happened from January 21, 1979 - February 11, 1999.

Pluto has five known moons: Charon (Pluto's largest moon) has a diameter of 1,172 kilometers (728 miles), just over half the size of Pluto -- other moons include Styx, Nix, Kerberos, and Hydra.

On July 14, 2015, the New Horizons spacecraft became the first spacecraft to fly by Pluto.

© 2018 - Discover The Planets -- 4 Jokes A Day Award Winner
Quote Fav for more!